Departments & Centers

Academic departments at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson fall into two categories: basic science departments and clinical departments.

Clinical departments provide medical care through the Banner – University Medical Center Tucson, our on-site teaching and research hospital. In addition, clinical faculty teach critical components of the medical school curriculum and supervise medical students and residents on clinical rotations.

Faculty in our basic science departments teach in the medical school curriculum, offer courses to undergraduates and graduate students in multiple programs, and present doctoral programs in their respective disciplines.

Departments in both categories maintain active research programs.